Skip to content

GratiTUESday: Instant Replay

Jun.8.2010

Despite all of my denial, apprehension, excitement, and disbelief, commencement has come and gone.  And finishing with one of my strongest academic semesters ever, I can honestly say that I feel good.  My time at RWU came to a close, and I didn’t spontaneously combust.  Neither did “my” organization after the transition.

In fact, I really couldn’t be happier with how the end of the year treated me. Diploma in hand, I have since packed my car and moved to Ohio for the summer, with enough free time before the start of my position at Baldwin-Wallace College as a NODA intern to let the new scenery slowly become familiar.  With a few days to myself, I have been more reflective than usual, going over the last months in pictures almost habitually, realizing how grateful I am to have such incredible people in my life.

Playing with Twitter apps, (as I know many of you do) I stumbled upon TweetCloud.com (www.tweetcloud.com) to analyze some of my ‘most commonly tweeted’ words of the last 3 months.  More important, however, are the results, and what they have meant to me:

It is impossible not to notice the amazing network of people around me to create such trends in language, and further the surreal nature of the last few months.  I have been so unbelievably lucky to have the support and recognition of so many as I have prepared to leave Roger Williams.

I fear that my individual acknowledgement of the phenomenal people that have helped me along the way isn’t enough.  I’ve been working through thank you notes, Facebook, and pledging to keep in touch through emails, but for certain contributions, these gestures almost don’t seem to cut it.

So, this Tuesday, I’m proposing that you get in contact with that person who made the difference for you, who lead you through the turning point in your life, whose office you ran to when you didn’t know where to go.  Show your “GratiTUESday” to the people in your life who’s absence would is now unimaginable because of their impact.

I’d be honored if you’d share your stories, write that rough draft, or even just support the idea by including the link to this post when sharing it with your colleagues and friends, so that this grad can help share the gratitude of the support it takes to graduate from college.

If you like what I have to say, follow me on Twitter!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jun.8.2010 11:15 am

    Brian, GREAT post and an great blog to boot. I look forward to reading more of your posts and your adventures in Graduate School! What a great way to chronicle your experiences and teach others at the same time!

    Best,
    @EdCabellon

    • Jun.8.2010 4:26 pm

      Thank you so much for your feedback Ed! I hope that it can serve as a resource for others; I had such great mentors to help me feel prepared through the process that I can only hope to try to explain what I’ve learned, and more importantly, bring together others who can be more help than I am able to be!

Leave a Reply

